taas-logo-abbrev

New Jersey AAPI History Map Bibliography

Sources

AAPI Montclair. “Mission & Values.” Last updated 2023. https://aapimontclair.org/mission-%26-values.

Andrews, Travis. “Kal Penn comes out as gay, talks about his longtime partner.” Washington Post, October 31, 2021. https://www.washingtonpost.com/arts-entertainment/2021/10/31/kal-penn-gay-book/.

Aronson, Emily. “Nobel Peace Prize winner Maria Ressa visited her NJ high school in the run-up to Princeton Alumni Day honors. Princeton University, February 18, 2022. https://www.princeton.edu/news/2022/02/18/nobel-peace-prize-winner-maria-ressa-stopped-her-nj-hometown-en-route-princeton.

Aurelio, Beatriz. “Meet the Founder of Vietnamese Boat People Podcast.” Tuk Tuk Box, January 18, 2022. https://www.tuktukbox.com/blogs/southeast-asian-story-board/meet-the-founder-of-vietnamese-boat-people-podcast.

Bald, Vivek. Bengali Harlem and the Lost Histories of South Asian America. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2013.

The Bomb Hole. “Miles Fallon.” YouTube, August 24, 2022. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6HdBGHdT0nk&ab_channel=TheBombHole.

Cachero, Paulina. “From AIDS to COVID-19, America’s Medical System Has a Long History of Relying on Filipino Nurses to Fight on the Frontlines.” TIME, May 30, 2021. https://time.com/6051754/history-filipino-nurses-us/.

“Can Kim Ng break the gender barrier?” Yahoo Sports, July 3, 2008. https://sports.yahoo.com/news/kim-ng-break-gender-barrier-013400477–mlb.html.

Castillo, Monica. “Statue honoring the memory of WWII ‘comfort women’ unveiled by students.” Washington Post, June 4, 2018. https://www.washingtonpost.com/gender-identity/statue-honoring-the-memory-of-wwii-comfort-women-unveiled-by-students/.

CBS Evening News. “Meet Ms. Marvel – the popular new Muslim superhero.” YouTube. February 27, 2016. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2E-62xmdPM&ab_channel=CBSEveningNews.

Chao, Eveline. “How a Chinatown-by-the-Sea Popped Up on the Jersey Shore.” Atlas Obscura, August 24, 2017. https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/chinese-bradley-beach-new-jersey.

Choy, Catherine Ceniza. Empire of Care: Nursing and Migration in Filipino American History. Durham: Duke University Press, 2003.

Data USA. “Fort Lee, NJ.” https://datausa.io/profile/geo/fort-lee-nj.

Data USA. “Middlesex County, NJ.” https://datausa.io/profile/geo/middlesex-county-nj.

Data USA. “Palisades Park, NJ.” https://datausa.io/profile/geo/palisades-park-nj.

Densho Encyclopedia. “Seabrook Farms.” Last updated June 10, 2020. https://encyclopedia.densho.org/Seabrook_Farms/#cite_note-ftnt_ref6-6.

Donohue, Brian. “Here’s why thousands of Asian-Americans trek to a N.J. farm every fall.” NJ.com, October 12, 2016. https://www.nj.com/entertainment/2016/10/never_mind_pumpkins_this_nj_farm_draws_thousands_o.html.

Donyéa, Tennyson. “Cherry Hill school gearing up for launch of Asian American Pacific Islander studies this fall.” WHYY, March 13, 2023. https://whyy.org/articles/cherry-hill-west-high-school-aapi-studies-new-jersey/.

The Fresh Air Fund. “Learn About Us.” Last updated 2024. https://freshair.org/learn-about-us/.

Foenander, Terry. “Asians and Pacific Islanders in the Civil War.” National Park Service, March 2015. https://www.nps.gov/civilwar/upload/More-Info-on-Asians-Pacific-Islanders-in-the-Civil-War-Alphabetically-by-Name.pdf.

“Glimpses.” The University of Chicago Magazine, October 2004. https://magazine.uchicago.edu/0410/features/glimpses.shtml.

Kanzler, Kaitlyn. “Who’s buried beneath a centuries-old Belleville church? Rutgers students search for clues.” Bergen Record, November 25, 2019. https://www.northjersey.com/story/news/essex/belleville/2019/11/25/buried-under-belleville-nj-church-rutgers-students-gather-clues/4229657002/.

Kaur, Valerie. “Sikh Coalition vs. New York City.” Valerie Kaur, August 20, 2005. https://valariekaur.com/2005/08/sikh-coalition-vs-new-york-city/.

King, Kate. “‘Little India’ Thrives in Central New Jersey.” The Wall Street Journal, September 25, 2017. https://www.wsj.com/articles/little-india-thrives-in-central-new-jersey-1506340801.

Kleimann, James. “Ridgewood Native Kim Ng Could be Baseball’s First Female GM.” Patch, October 20, 2011. https://patch.com/new-jersey/ridgewood/ridgewood-native-ng-could-be-baseball-s-first-female-gm.

Lao American Sports. “Miles Fallon.” Last updated May 1, 2023. https://www.laoamericansports.com/miles-fallon#google_vignette.

Lenox, Steve. “Bangladeshi ‘Community of Unity’ Celebrated with Historic Street Naming.” TAPinto, June 23, 2019, https://www.tapinto.net/towns/paterson/sections/arts-and-entertainment/articles/bangladeshi-community-of-unity-celebrated-with-historic-street-naming.

Lew, Elizabeth Rose. “Reexamining Irish-Chinese Relations in America: A Study of Belleville, New Jersey 1870-1886.” BA diss. Brown University, 2004.

Manavi. “About Us.” Last updated 2024. https://www.manavi.org/about/.

“Meet Sana Amanat, co-creator of Kamala Khan in the Ms. Marvel comics.” MAKERS. April 16, 2022. https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=480457190544166.

“Miami Marlins hire Kim Ng as MLB’s first female general manager.” ESPN, November 13, 2020. https://www.espn.com/mlb/story/_/id/30310018/miami-marlins-hire-kim-ng-mlb-first-female-general-manager.

Mroz, Jacqueline. “How Belleville Became the East Coast’s First Chinese Community.” New Jersey Monthly, April 22, 2022. https://njmonthly.com/articles/news/how-belleville-became-the-east-coasts-first-chinese-community/.

Musorrafiti, Dominique. “Interview With Helen Zia On The Need For Equal Rights For All.” China Underground, August 22, 2018. https://china-underground.com/2018/08/22/interview-with-helen-zia/.

New Jersey Hall of Fame. “Connie Chung.” Last updated 2024. https://njhalloffame.org/hall-of-famers/2016-inductees/connie-chung/.

Nguyen Mang, Tracey. “Happy Birthday to Us.” Vietnamese Boat People, October 13, 2020. https://www.vietnameseboatpeople.org/post/happy-birthday-to-us.

NJ Spotlight News. “Nobel Peace Prize awarded to journalist with NJ roots.” WTTW. October 8, 2021. https://video.wttw.com/video/vo-nobel-prize-1633721687/.

PBS Origins. “The Real History of the Partition of India & Pakistan in Ms. Marvel.” YouTube. August 22, 2022. https://youtube.com/watch?v=FRprONs7Qx4&ab_channel=PBSOrigins.

Penn, Kal. You Can’t Be Serious. New York: Gallery Books, 2021.

Philippine Nurses Association of America. “About Us.” Last updated 2016. https://mypnaa.org/About-Us.

Proteus Fund. “Staff.” Last updated 2024. https://www.proteusfund.org/staff/.

Rowan University – Glassboro State College Hall of Fame. “Alex Stepanow.” Rowan University Athletics. https://www.rowanathletics.com/honors/rowan-university-glassboro-state-college-hall-of-fame/alex-stepanow/142.

Roy, Sandip. “My Granddad, the Bengali Peddler.” India Currents, June 4, 2013. https://indiacurrents.com/my-granddad-the-bengali-peddler/.

Schettino, Allyson. “Sana Amanat.” In Hidden Voices: Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in United States History. https://www.weteachnyc.org/media2016/filer_public/56/cb/56cb63fa-b413-43cd-ac5f-dac9ca42afdb/hv_aapi_guide_v9_final_web.pdf.

Seabrook Educational and Cultural Center. “Seabrook History.” Last updated 2024. https://seabrookeducation.org/seabrook-history/.

Seabrook Farms. “Invisible Restraints: Life and Labor at Seabrook Farms.” Rutgers University Library. Last updated 2024. https://exhibits.libraries.rutgers.edu/seabrook_farms.

Sengupta, Somini. “Visible and Invisible.” New York Times, March 5, 2000. https://www.nytimes.com/2000/03/05/books/visible-and-invisible.html.

Shaikin, Bill. “Kim Ng on leaving Dodgers: I still want to be a GM. Los Angeles Times, March 8, 2011. https://www.latimes.com/archives/blogs/dodgers-now/story/2011-03-08/kim-ng-on-leaving-dodgers-i-still-want-to-be-a-gm.

Shear, Jeffrey. “The Kalmuks: A Touch Of Mongolia in Monmouth.” New York Times, September 16, 1979. https://www.nytimes.com/1979/09/16/archives/new-jersey-weekly-the-kalmuks-a-touch-of-mongolia-in-monmouth.html.

Sieh, Daniel. “Looking Through the Silk Screen: Asian People in the American Revolution.” Museum of the American Revolution, May 2021. https://www.amrevmuseum.org/looking-through-the-silk-screen-asian-people-in-the-american-revolution.

Sikh Coalition. “About Us.” Last updated 2024. https://www.sikhcoalition.org/about-us/.

“A Soldier from Siam.” Emerging Civil War, March 8, 2012. https://emergingcivilwar.com/2012/03/08/a-soldier-from-siam/.

Son, Gabriela. “Stories My Grandmother Tells Me.” https://youthcouncilfortlee.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/ycfl-comfort-women-poem-gabriella-son.pdf.

Teach Asian American Stories. “NJ Law S4021.” Last updated 2024. https://teachasianamericanstories.org/our-work/nj-law-s4021/.

United States Census Bureau. “QuickFacts: Edison township, Middlesex County, New Jersey.” July 1, 2023. https://www.census.gov/quickfacts/fact/table/edisontownshipmiddlesexcountynewjersey/PST045223.

Urban, Andrew. “A lesson from history about protecting migrant workers.” The World, May 31, 2016. https://theworld.org/stories/2016/05/31/lesson-history-about-protecting-migrant-workers.

Urban, Andrew. “Between Competition and Solidarity: Black and Nikkei Workers at Seabrook Farms, 1943-1959.” Black and Asian American Solidarity Conference lecture at Princeton, October 11, 2023. 

Valenti, Denise. “Princeton alumna Maria Ressa wins Nobel Peace Prize.” Princeton University, October 8, 2021. https://www.princeton.edu/news/2021/10/08/princeton-alumna-maria-ressa-wins-nobel-peace-prize.

Verhovek, Sam Howe. “Loss of Traditions for a Tiny Ethnic Group.” New York Times, July 20, 1987. https://timesmachine.nytimes.com/timesmachine/1987/07/20/838987.html?pageNumber=21.

Vietnamese Boat People. “About.” Last updated 2024. https://www.vietnameseboatpeople.org/about.

Wang, Connie. “I Got My Name From Connie Chung. So Did They.” New York Times, May 11, 2023. https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2023/05/11/opinion/connie-chung-named-after.html.

Youth Council of Fort Lee. “Comfort Women Memorial.” https://youthcouncilfortlee.org/projects/comfortwomen/.